Theo Courant

 

Daily chronicles of cultural information, tips and tricks for travelers in South East Asia: Thailand, Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos.



THeoCOurant

Thailand: celebrations and holidays in 2020

List of public holidays and national holidays in Thailand for 2020. Added to this are the main Thai festivals.

January

Sunday January 12: National Children’s Day

Thursday January 16: National Teachers Day

Friday 17 to Sunday 19 January: Festival of parasols and handicrafts of Bo Sang in Chiang Mai

Saturday January 18: National Armed Forces Day

Saturday January 25: Chinese New Year – Public Holiday

Note: If Saturday or Sunday is a public holiday, it’s postponed to the following Monday.

February

Monday February 3: National Veterans Day

Saturday February 8: Makha Bucha Day. Monday 10 – Public Holiday

Sunday February 9: Chiang Mai Flower Festival

Friday February 14: Valentine’s Day

March

Friday March 13: Elephant Festival

Tuesday March 17: National Muay Thai Day

Friday March 20 to Sunday March 22: Thailand MotoGP Grand Prix de Buriram

April

Thursday April 2: National Thai Heritage Day

Monday April 6: Commemoration of the Chakri royal family – Public Holiday

Thursday April 9: Air Force Day

Monday 13 to Wednesday 15 Songkran Festival – Public Holiday

Saturday April 25: National Day of King Naresuan

May

Friday, May 1: National Labor Day – Public Holiday

Monday May 4: Coronation Day – Public Holiday

Wednesday May 6: Wisakha Bucha Day – Public Holiday

Monday May 11: Royal Plowing Ceremony

June

Wednesday June 3: H.M. Birthday of Queen Suthida – Public Holiday

July

Saturday July 4: Asarnha Bucha. Monday July 6 – Statutory Holiday

Tuesday July 7: Khao Phansa Day – Public Holiday

Tuesday July 28: Birthday of King Rama X – Public Holiday

August

Wednesday August 12: Queen Sirikit’s Birthday and Mother’s Day – Public Holiday

October

Tuesday October 13: Remembrance Day of King Bhumibol Rama IX – Public Holiday

Friday October 23: Chulalongkorn Memorial Day – Public Holiday

Saturday October 31: Loy Krathong

December

Saturday, December 5, King Bhumibol’s birthday and Father’s Day. Monday December 7 – Statutory Holiday

Thursday December 10: Constitution Day – Public Holiday

Friday December 25: Christmas

Thursday December 31:  Public Holiday

This post is also available in: frFrançais

Tagged under

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Shares
Share1
Tweet
Share
Pin